Shelf. Life

A look at what's happening at Willard

Enjoy ‘action view’ in graphic novels from Hoopla

If you're in need of a fun distraction, now is the perfect time to dive into graphic novels, and one of my favorite ways to read them is through Willard's digital app Hoopla.

Hoopla allows users to read in what they call "action view," which just means the app zooms in on each panel of art. It's a really cool way to experience the artwork and story.

During April, Willard Library has increased the number of borrows per month from 8 to 10, so you can read to your heart's content! In addition, Hoopla has added more than 1,100 "Bonus Borrows," which are items you can borrow that don't count toward your monthly limit.

If you don't have a Willard Library card, you can register for one online while the library is closed.

I also love that with the app there is no wait for materials, even if someone else is reading the same thing.

Here are some of my current favorites, which can all be found on Hoopla. To see what's available go under "Browse" and then select "Comics." I hope you enjoy, and let us know some of your favorites as well.

"New Kid" by Jerry Craft

"New Kid" follows Jordan Banks as he tries to navigate a new school while starting seventh grade. Although he loves to draw and longs to go to art school, Jordan's parents make the decision to send him to a prestigious (expensive) prep academy instead. Jordan has to navigate making friends, sports, and feeling out of place in both his new school, which lacks diversity, and his old neighborhood, where he feels he's being left behind. This sweet, heartfelt book is perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier.

Snug: A Collection of Comics about Dating Your Best Friend by Catana Chetwyn of Catana Comics

In a completely different direction, Snug is the adorable distraction I've been looking for. I've been a fan of Catana's comics for a while now (her Instagram is a delight) and this collection of funny, relatable comics doesn't disappoint. It's the little weird, everyday moments in a relationship that end up being truly special, and "Snug" memorializes them perfectly.

Lumberjanes (the whole series)

The first volume of Lumberjanes, "Beware the Kitten Holy" is available on Hoopla right now as a "bonus borrow." Score! I love this series so much. It follows the adventures of five friends at the delightful "Miss Quinzella Thskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet's Camp for Hardcore Lady Types" summer camp. The name of the camp gives you some inkling what you are in for with this series. The girls will have to band together to follow quests and solve mysteries -- starting with the woman they saw turn into a bear.

Folklords by Matt Kindt

I downloaded this series opener on a whim because I liked the cover, and boy, was it a treat! The premise of this story is so clever. Ansel lives in a fairy tale world full of dragons and trolls and magical quests. But unlike his peers, he is convinced there is another world out there, our world, full of skyscrapers and cars and men in suits. In his own (homemade) suit and tie, Ansel embarks on a quest of his own to find the "Folklords" and hopefully get some answers.

Ms. Marvel Vol. 1: No Normal by G. Willow Wilson

This new series from Marvel is a delight. Ms. Marvel follows Kamala Kahn, a teenager suddenly given extraordinary gifts. As she tries to sort out her identity -- teenage girl, Muslim, superhero -- she discovers secrets about her new powers. Don't miss this. I hope we get to see Kamala on screen someday. She's a hero the world needs!

Alisha is currently reading Linda Holmes' "Evvie Drake Starts Over," which is available as an ebook and audiobook on Overdrive.

Challenge yourself with some fun activities
Keep your kids busy with dozens of free resources
 

Comments

No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment
Guest
Monday, 10 August 2020